.

Expect Traffic Delays Due to Patriot Center Graduations

Drivers should avoid Braddock and Route 123 near Fairfax City.

June marks the end of a school year, the start of summer, and a milestone in the lives of thousands of graduating high school students. But it also means a two-week-long traffic nightmare for those living around the area's popular center graduation venue.

Graduations at the often come with a car crawl along the edges of and long lines at the Braddock Road-Route 123 and Braddock-Patriot Circle, Braddock-Sideburn and Route 123-University Drive intersections.

Drivers should avoid these areas for at least an hour before and after the graduation start time. Those who live in the neighborhoods near GMU (hi Kelley Drive residents!) should try to get home early and, well, stay there.

Note these upcoming graduations:

Friday, June 8
7:00 PM - Gar-Field

Saturday, June 9
9:30 AM - Hylton 
2:30 PM - Forest Park
7:00 PM - Freedom (PWC)

Sunday, June 10
3:00 PM - Freedom (LCPS)
7:30 PM - Stone Bridge

Monday, June 11
10:00 AM - Park View
2:00 PM - Briar Woods
7:00 PM - Broad Run

Thursday, June 14
9:30 AM - Robinson
2:00 PM - Herndon
7:30 PM - Lee

Friday, June 15
9:30 AM - Lake Braddock
2:00 PM - West Potomac

Saturday, June 16
7:00 PM - Thomas Jefferson

Monday, June 18
9:30 AM - Chantilly 
2:00 PM – South County
7:30 PM - Westfield

Tuesday, June 19
9:30 AM - Centreville 
2:00 PM – West Springfield
7:30 PM - Oakton

Wednesday, June 20
9:30 AM - Falls Church

Dates and times provided by GMU.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »